Gym trip success or not? šŸ¤”

My day did not begin well. I woke up at some stupid early hour on my day off to wake the pre teen up for school…. the battle ensued. Over the course of the next hour, trying to get his butt out of bed and to school. Shouting, asking nicely, removing his prized possessions… none of it worked. So I gave up. I know I shouldnā€™t have. But I have so many personal battles going on inside me right now that after the hour I didnā€™t want to fight anymore. So he won. I told the school straight as to why he was not going in, heā€™s not happy about all the new ā€œbubblesā€ he couldnt cope with the changes today of being kept away from friends from other years and class groups, the having to wear masks in certain areas of school etc etc.

So I let him stay home. We talked about it a bit later when weā€™d both calmed down. The usual about how school is not a choice itā€™s the law and he has to go. Then he asks the dreaded question…. dreaded, because how can I say no when Iā€™ve said yes in the past to his sister ….ā€canā€™t he be homed schoolā€ trouble is part of me wants to say actually yes you can. And then the other part is saying no! Iā€™m part tempted to give him a trial run, see if he actually does the work, and sticks to it… and if not inform him from the beginning he will be going back to school if he does not do the work. And then part of me is saying nope, not doing it heā€™s going in! But I know the battle. I had it before with Charlotte. I know the upset and distress it causes to me and to them. And Iā€™m not sure I can go through all that again. Not right now. But Iā€™ll have to really think about it.

So yeah, that kicked my day into a negative mood, leaving me angry, irritable and grumpy first thing. This made me want to throw in the towel, stray off plan, drink Pepsi and eat loads of crap. But I managed to hang in there. Stayed strong, luckily with some meals ready made up in fridge I didnā€™t have to stress over prepping just a quick whack in the microwave. So that helped a lot.

I did cave at one point and had 6 squares of a Cadburyā€™s caramel bar (total of 9syns) but in all honesty I didnā€™t actually enjoy it at all.

The internal mind battle continued. Luckily I couldnā€™t be arsed to take my lard Arse to the shop to buy real Pepsi. So I managed to stick with the diet and effectively stay on plan.

So to distract myself, I actually asked Charlotte about coming to the gym. So here I am sat on the mat waiting on her to finish up (Iā€™m beat now Iā€™ve done my workout lol). Iā€™m feeling very proud of myself. I actually completed day 1 of the NHS couch to 5km. Day 1 being 5mins brisk walk to begin followed by 1min run, 1.5min walk for a total of 20mins workout. And I can actually say that although I did feel the 1min run sections…. I actually didnā€™t struggle to much. I feel I completed it fairly comfortably, which considering Iā€™ve not run in god knows how many months… I was rather impressed. I Then followed this with some sit ups, leg raisers, squats and lunges. So all in all not a bad workout! Oh and a 30second plank! (Feeling a little happy with that one) … First proper workout in absolute months. And feeling better now! Inside and out (not sure Iā€™ll be saying the same tomorrow when the aches kick in šŸ¤£šŸ¤£)

So thatā€™s it, not much else to say today! Roll on tomorrow and letā€™s Hope the path of ā€œplanā€ remains in place!

So thanks for popping by. Catch you later šŸ’•šŸ’•

One thought on “Gym trip success or not? šŸ¤”

  1. Any workout is a good workout, the battle is getting to the gym, but once you set your self a goal its some thing to aim for, always aim high, you may not get the prize you want, but you wont leave empty handed, stick with it, i set my self 6 months and only into month 2 going to be a long journey, but hopefully the prize will be worth it, stay strong and focused xxx

    Like

Leave a comment